By Christine Muthoni

President Akinwumi Adesina of African Development Bank (AfDB) has been honoured for his exemplary leadership in Africa, 2019.

The annual African Persons of the year awards held in South Africa’s capital, Johannesburg, by Africa Leadership Magazine, recognized Dr Adesina leadership contributions by awarding his achievements.

The award ceremony was attended by 200 leading African political, business and diplomats from across the continent. Dr Adesina, who is serving his second term as the AfDB President, expressed his deep gratitude and humility for the recognition.  

He termed the honour as “his very modest achievements and contributions to Africa.”

Dr Adesina received 60% of the votes cast by the 1million voters. He dedicated the award to his wife Grace, the board as well as the staff and colleagues, everyone else making a difference out there to make Africa better.

The President continued to add that AfDB is committed towards feeding, industrializing, integrating, lighting up, powering and improving the quality of life in Africa. The five key objectives of the AfDB.

Having been elected in 2015, the following are some of his achievements; 18 million people got access to electricity, 141 million others received agricultural technologies having been a leader in the African Agricultural Innovation Space for over 30 years. The other 13 million people got finance through private investment companies; 60 million people received improved water and sanitation standards.

“The Africa Leadership Magazine issues an award to the most outstanding African Leadership Person,” explains the Secretariat. The first stage is usually nomination where Africans and the friends of Africa from around the world are allowed to nominate.”

The other key sectors considered are persons who have had an outstanding track record in the service to humanity, societal impact and one who can be looked up to by the future African leaders.

Other accolades awarded to deserving individuals include the ALM persons of the year awards in the following categories: Educational development, Employment generation, Political leadership, Philanthropy and the young person of the year award.