By Mary Hearty

Of the 47 researchers selected to join the new cohort of the African Academy of Sciences (AAS) Affiliates program, more than half (24) are women.

The program is designed to recognize, mentor and develop early career researchers into world-class research leaders in line with the institution’s vision of transforming lives through science.

The researchers include Dr. Rebecca Kariuki (Kenya), Dr. Luria Leslie Founou (South Africa), Dr. Theresia Estomih Nkya (Nigeria), Dr. Oluwakemi Rotimi (Nigeria), Dr. Rania Moussa (Egypt), Dr. Huguette Dorine (Cameroon) and  Dr. Thandazile Moyo (South Africa).

Others selected are Dr. Thandeka Moyo-Gwete (South Africa), Professor Tricia Naicker (South Africa), Dr. Vimbai Samukange (Zimbabwe), Dr. Igbari, Aramide Dolapo (Nigeria), Doctor Ané Orchard (South Africa), Dr. Blessing Adanta Odogwu (Nigeria), Dr. Caroline Rosemyya Kwawu (Ghana), Dr. Christine Sekaggya-Wiltshire (Uganda), Dr. Cynthia Ayefoumi Adinortey (Ghana), Dr. Alice Kamau (Kenya), South Africa), Dr. Tsitsi Monera-Penduka (Zimbabwe), Dr. Rehab El-Maghraby (Egypt), Dr. O. Sarobidy Rakotonarivo (Madagascar), Dr. Emelda Chukwu (Nigeria) and Dr. Hannah Karuri (Kenya).

The Affiliates were selected through a rigorous process based on their demonstrated excellence in the development and application of science in Africa. The selection reflects the Academy’s commitment to diversity in scientific disciplines.

The 47 Affiliates were selected from over 200 competitive applicants who responded to the 2021 Call for AAS Affiliates. They join an existing network of 127 Affiliates drawn from various African countries and across several scientific disciplines.

During their five-year membership, they will receive professional development support in grant writing, publishing, science communication, collaborative research, scientific leadership, entrepreneurship, mentoring and networking.